I Have Found Peace

psalm119Throughout the past year, Rob & I have fell in love with the Pentateuch and the commandments throughout it.  I used to believe God’s Word was filled with rules and burdens for my life, because I didn’t want to give up myself at all (while proclaiming praise to Him).  I didn’t like the idea of sacrificing myself or allowing Christ to sacrifice Himself as an offering so that I might live in His light and know His peace.

I have found peace! In His law, I have found a great love and ease in life.  I feel like the weight has been carried off.  His blood has only increased on my life over the years, but now, I have a reason to give back to Him and serve Him through how I live by abiding in Him and obeying Him.

Psalm 119: 172-176 expresses:
“My tongue will sing of your word, for all your commandments are right. Let your hand be ready to help me, for I have chosen your precepts. I long for your salvation, O Lord, and your law is my delight.  Let my soul live and praise you, and let your rules help me.  I have gone astray like a lost sheep; seek your servant, for I do not forget your commandments.”

I am weary of hearing many Christians shrug off the Law and long to live for themselves (and finding these things to be natural, while living just as the unbelievers do).  As I tell my own sons to change their underwear daily, to be kind to others, to brush their teeth, to not steal one another’s toys; I see how much more natural the law is for our lives to become accustomed to.  I pray that we will all be willing to reflect and know the laws and live them while being willing to be shown by Christ which ones He has covered with His sacrificial blood that we no longer have to worry about, and which ones we need to continue to practice!  I no longer feel a burden, but a great joy!  I am excited about what God has revealed to us through His Word! It is so exciting!

“Do not think that I have come to abolish the Law or the Prophets; I have not come to abolish them but to fulfill them.  For truly, I say to you, until heaven and earth pass away, not an iota, not a dot, will pass from the Law until all is accomplished. Therefore whoever relaxes one of the least of these commandments and teaches others to do the same will be called least in the kingdom of heaven, but whoever does them and teaches them will be called great in the kingdom of heaven.” -Matthew 5:17-19

2 comments
  1. gvothk said:

    I loved reading this! It disheartens me to see Christians hate the law and try to run away from it when it’s really God trying to show His love for us. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

