Be the Mission Field Today!

Many times over the past few years I have told people that I have a heart for International missions.

Christians often respond to me saying:
“You can’t do that. You have a family.”
“That’s great for you. I haven’t felt that call at all, myself.”
“I could never do that.”
“Why can’t you do mission work in the US instead?”tumblr_magecuLQMS1r5urpdo1_500
“You have to go to college for that.”

I am often so frustrated.  There are so many times when I just want to cry for hours because of how deeply I feel lead to go on the mission field and how stranded or useless I feel, though I see doors starting to open, finally.

As a child I was drawn to missionary stories.  The first missionaries I met when I was about 5 or 6 told about China and how people would hide Bibles to bring across China’s borders and explained the dangers they faced in doing so.  They gave me the smallest Bible I ever owned which had the 4 gospels inside of it and was only about 2″ tall.  I will say that the idea sounded so amazing. The sense of daring adventure and having to trust in God excited me even then.

Once my missionary uncle was kidnapped, my whole view of missionaries changed.  I started to think how terrible of an idea it was to be one.  It was too scary.  However, I still was intrigued by all the stories of those missionaries I heard or read about (or met), and it didn’t help that during that time my family started attending a Christian & Missionary Alliance church.  When my uncle was killed, I was so angry that I just yelled at God all the time for killing him when he was a servant of God doing His will while my cousins and aunt were left to pick up the emotional pieces.

Once I was nearly 15 years old, only 3 years later, my ideals of anger towards the mission field changed again to feeling at peace over the situation.  I am glad for the sacrifices made by the many missionaries who bring or brought the gospel of Christ throughout the world.  I realized that all Christians are called to a life of missions, and that we are promised to suffer as Christ had (Romans 8, 2 Corinthians 1, Philippians 1&3, Colossians 1). Our comfort should be in and by Him, not in living in comfortable conditions & have God meet our needs when there are people in anguish in need of food for their Spirits.  There is no excuse, though too many times people make one.  Too many times I myself have made some.  But I am done.

WomaninIndiaWe are told in Mark 16 that Jesus rebuked the disciples and others for their hardness in heart for not believing that He was risen.  He then tells us to go to the whole world and preach the gospel to the ends of the earth.  He doesn’t tell us to go and meet at buildings and keep the gospel to ourselves or hope that people will come into these buildings and find God on their own.  He tells us to go out for we carry the Holy Spirit within us.  If going out means to your workplace, your neighborhood, your families, your friends, or to strangers, then go to such places.  If going out means to go to another country in an unfamiliar land, then go.  He said to “go”! Teach! Baptize! Train! Send!

“Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.” – Matthew 28:19-20

I am called.  You are called.
This is part of being obedient of our Abba!
It has nothing to do with you and everything to do with Him and His glory.
I want to go. I need to go. Send me, Lord! Send my whole family!
Let’s not worry about what we want or think we need for our own gain.
Don’t let anyone die without getting an opportunity to know Jesus!

“Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal,  but lay  up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” -Matthew 6:19-21

Photo #1 #2

1 comment
  1. Shelly said:

    There is no doubt as believers we are all called to serve the Lord. For some that is in their own families or communities and for others it is in far away places. The important thing is to be obedient to God and be patient waiting on His timing which is always perfect.

Leave a Reply

